EVs Vs ICE Vehicles

Discussion in 'General' started by SJP, Jun 27, 2021.

To remove this ad click here.

1. SJP

SJP New Member

Why do you think EVs have not replaced ICE vehicles yet? What could actually make people prefer EVs over ICE vehicles?

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. cost. range anxiety. recharge time. price of electricity vs. gas. number of chargers vs. number of gas stations. In other words, most people are not willing to give up any aspect to own an EV vs. ICE

rcarter3636 likes this.
  4. Unfamiliarity: The friends I take on road trips all would buy an EV as their next car. Those who have not used them worry about range, charge time and infrastructure. Most who own EV’s wouldn’t go back to an to an ICE. I have restored and raced cars for over 50 years. I am a professional engineer and an expert mechanic. My next restoration will also be an EV conversion. Electric is so much nicer. I never have to go to the gas station. I just plug in at home and charge from solar. No oil change, no smog check, less brake wear do to regen. The list goes on…..

KD4KCD and miatadan like this.
  5. miatadan

miatadan Active Member Subscriber

Would love 1964 Mustang convertible / Mazda MX5 as an EV conversion. Grew up with pony cars/sports cars .... as you say " Electric is so much nicer. I never have to go to the gas station. I just plug in at home and charge from solar. No oil change, no smog check, less brake wear do to regen. The list goes on…. "

Dan

6. Exactly, I have a 65 Ranchero and a 74 Porsche 914-6. The debate I have with myself is do I sell what I have and start from scratch or do I rip out all the work I have done on the ICE side. I am leaning to selling on the Ranchero and either or on the 914-6. I could probably get enough for the drive train from the Porsche to convert the Porsche.

electriceddy likes this.
  7. To remove this ad click here.