Newbie here, wife getting her 2021 Kona (preferred) six months earlier than expected.

Discussion in 'Hyundai Kona Electric' started by navguy12, Aug 13, 2020.

To remove this ad click here.

1. navguy12

navguy12 Well-Known Member

Today was the first 12 month routine maintenance on my wife's 2021 Kona EV.

Discussion items beyond the "normal" list of inspections due at this time:

Cabin air filter: the filter was pristine looking and my practice is to use a mini vacuum attachment (like a small drinking straw) and vacuum out each pleat and then re-install the unit for another year service. The R&R procedure is very easy compared to my TM3.

Brake inspection: the car sees service in severe winter conditions, therefor I remove all the brake pads and re-lubricate all the points on the pad backing plates and calipers that require brake caliper lubrication.

The rear brake caliper dis-assembly (with the e-brake module) was a non-issue as the caliper body was removed in the same manner as was employed for the front brakes; of course one has to be careful with the rear caliper body not stressing the flexible rubber brake line OR the wire loom for the e-brake module.

IMG_0886.JPG

One "gottcha" to speak of when removing the rear brake pads from the caliper carrier:

IMG_0887.JPG

None of the online videos (or the linked shop instructions below) mention that if one wants to temporarily remove the current rear brake pads, the "pad retainers" one way locking barb (all four brakes have these, but the fronts were not an issue) will make the job impossible unless one pulls the bottom of the pad such that the barb is "bent backwards"...just be sure to straighten the barb with needle nose pliers prior to re-lubricating and re-installing the lower pad retainer.

https://www.hkona.com/rear_disc_brake_repair_procedures-1096.html

electriceddy likes this.
  2. To remove this ad click here.

3. navguy12

Strange thing happened yesterday: