Whats a cheap way to protect the paint?

Discussion in 'Cooper SE' started by rustybones, Jun 19, 2022.

To remove this ad click here.

1. rustybones

rustybones Member

I really like the green color of my Mini and want to see it shine for years to come, so I have to protect it from the scorching, sometimes unforgiving Florida sun. My dealer offered to apply some sort of UV treatment on my car and while I like the folks there, the quoted ~1,000$ is a little too much.

I'm new to owning a car, so is there any bargain ways to protect my Mini? Thanks in advance.

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. chrunck

chrunck Well-Known Member

Parking in the shade is about as bargain as it gets.

Rexsio and SameGuy like this.
  4. SameGuy

SameGuy Well-Known Member Subscriber

YUL
    Lol

Find a local detailer with a good reputation and ask how much for a “new car detail,” and get a separate quote for a “ceramic coating.” You can of course go to detailing classes in Jupiter at AutoGeek HQ, and it will become a very satisfying hobby keeping your new car looking good for years.

5. Tommm

Tommm Well-Known Member

I put Mother's ceramic coating on our 07 sedan with 125k at the time, three years ago. Every year since, around this time I put a few more coats on. I must have applied over 30 coats on our cars, and on the metal gazebo we put together during lockdown, and I am still on bottle 1. Come winter I pull out the power washer and watch the dirt roll off the car. I wiped each car down with prep all.

Oh, the car didnt go through car washes so there were zero swirl marks, and it was garaged until about six years ago. Still, today the car looks much newer than 15 years and 136k miles. I give the thumbs up to Mother's ceramic in the silver spray bottle.

SameGuy likes this.
  6. DisgruntledSanta

DisgruntledSanta Active Member