Using RV 30 amp outlet

Discussion in 'Cooper SE' started by Nat, Jan 19, 2022.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Nat

Nat New Member

Can I use a 30 AMP RV outlet to charge my ID4? If yes do I need adapter, and what? Please respond in simple and straightforward language and not with too much technical language :) ( it’s way beyond my head and I’m new in the EV world)

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. chrunck

chrunck Well-Known Member

It's likely, though you may want to post in the Volkswagen sub-forum and not the MINI Cooper sub-forum.

If you take a picture of the outlet, it will help people suggest which adapter you need.

Texas22Step likes this.
  4. DisgruntledSanta

DisgruntledSanta Active Member

I believe most RV outlets are 120V not 240V, so I would think not. But it’s been a hot minute since I’ve looked at one.

Sent from my iPhone using Inside EVs

5. chrunck

chrunck Well-Known Member

Can the ID.4 not charge on a 120V outlet?

6. teslarati97

teslarati97 Well-Known Member

It's complicated but there are limitations. I don't recommend it and you would have to get an aftermarket EVSE. Lectron EV does offer one but I have no idea on how it performs and it would be $200 for a plug for 30A socket (not 50A).

7. To remove this ad click here.

8. Following up on the reply from @teslarati97 above, it does seem rather complicated.

FWIW, the original poster's question was posed on a dedicated VW ID forum some months back, which you can see here. In addition to posting to the forum, that poster also posed the question directly to VW, and here's the answer they got back...