traded 2014 Volt for Clarity Touring

Discussion in 'Clarity' started by Oak Hill Dan, Sep 14, 2018.

To remove this ad click here.

Tags:
  1. Oak Hill Dan

Oak Hill Dan New Member

Hi,
    I've been a Volt owner since Dec. 2010, and our family has owned 4 Volts during that time frame. We've clearly been Volt fans, and the cars have all been trouble-free. Nevertheless, I traded in my 2014 Volt this week for a 2018 Clarity Touring. Two factors really helped with the decision: the test drive experience and the info I've gleaned from reading this forum. (So MANY THANKS! to all of you) . The key joy with the Volts was the ability to drive gas-free for expended periods, 5000 miles during one stretch. So in the test drive I was pleased to see that I could easily stay in EV mode (ECON setting) without really sacrificing any performance.

I've limited experience with the new Clarity but can briefly state attributes that have favorably caught my attention so far:
    * longer range . My 2014 Volt was rated for 38 miles, and I could not make the 46 mile daily commute without either burning gas or charging with a level 1 charger at work. On the Clarity's first day, I discovered that the shorter L1 charge cord would not reach the plug, so I ran a couple of errands and drove home all on EV, 52 miles in all with 4 miles estimated range left. I was impressed! The drive was primarily 65 mph through downtown freeway, with one good-sized hill and temperature was in the 80s. For those who may be interested, I swapped L1 chargers with my wife, and the Volt's L1 charger works fine on the Clarity.
    * bigger interior. The larger back seat was a major factor. The Clarity is very comfortable.
    * the trunk is quite large, allaying my concerns about going from hatchback to sedan.
    * smoother ride, and higher off the ground. Nice not to scrape the driveway when backing out each day.