Tesla's Breakthru Model 3 Electric Motor

Discussion in 'Tesla' started by Pushmi-Pullyu, Sep 13, 2018.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Pushmi-Pullyu

Pushmi-Pullyu Well-Known Member

It's called by the rather unwieldy name PMSRM, meaning "Permanent Magnet Switched Reluctance Motor".

Clean Technica has an article which takes a longish, deep dive into the tech:

"Tesla Model 3 Motor — Everything I’ve Been Able To Learn About It (Welcome To The Machine)" by Steve Bakker

Since I'm not an electrical engineer, I admit my eyes did glaze over a bit in certain sections of the article, but if you're a true Tesla fan then I recommend you stick with it. Even if (like me) you don't get much out of the details of exactly how the PMSRM converts electricity to mechanical rotary force, it's still got some fascinating bits of info. For example:

...from Rickard’s continuing comments while still under the car (Rickard, by the way, has gone as far down the Tesla drivetrain rabbit hole as anyone I’ve ever heard of). Extrapolating from EPA documents, Jack is calling the Model 3’s “battery-to-wheels loss” as 6 percentage points more efficient than the Model S (89% of electrical energy is converted to forward motion, compared to 83% for the S).
    Wow! I recall reading that the Tesla Roadster was ~80% efficient in its battery-to-wheel efficiency, and I assumed that would never be significantly improved. After all, gasmobile engineers and auto makers have had over a century to improve the mechanical efficiency of the motorcar, so I assumed Tesla's engineers wouldn't be able to do significantly better. Clearly I was wrong! However, I suspect a bit of that is use of tires with less flex; tire flex is an important contributor to mechanical efficiency loss in a motorcar.

I think I've also read that Tesla has improved the efficiency of its inverters since the Model S was new, so likely that's also part of why the Model 3 is more energy efficient that the Model S was when it was new.