Solar fueling?

Discussion in 'Rivian' started by Adrnlnjnky, Jun 6, 2019.

To remove this ad click here.

Tags:
  1. Adrnlnjnky

Adrnlnjnky New Member

It seems to me that a vehicle touting "adventure" and "go farther" should have some way of energizing itself. Are there any plans to put solar panels (esthetically pleasing) on the roof or in the tonneau cover? In a fossil fuel truck running out of gas means tapping a Jerry can or a long walk to the gas station or siphoning fuel from another vehicle. Not the best options but options non-the -less. I know there is talk of an aux battery, is that the nail out option. Would a roof and tonneau filled with solar panels be enough to charge the battery?

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. James McGovern

James McGovern New Member

I am no expert but from reading other threads there isn't enough surface area on the roof or tonneau to produce enough power to warrant the added expense and the time it would take to charge the pack...In all seriousness, if you feel like you might be pushing your luck, maybe bring a 1000w generator inverter with you...They take up very little space, weight very little, and use roughly 1 gallon of gas for around 10-14 hours....Yes, I know it defeats the purpose but it is a much better option...

4. Wayne Peterson

Wayne Peterson New Member

Agreed. I have solar 30 panels on the roof of my house producing 10 kw of energy (approximately 50kwh a day) Even with them totally dedicated to the car battery it would take a good amount of time to charge the battery.

5. There is no doubt that solar does a much better job on your roof than your vehicle. Still, I love the idea of an optional solar tonneau cover. It may only add a few extra miles a day, but I still like the idea of getting more energy in the battery just sitting there parked. Out in the woods, those few miles could make a helpful difference.