Should I buy a 2022 EV Niro?

Discussion in 'Kia Niro' started by EV2 Brute, Jun 10, 2022.

To remove this ad click here.

1. EV2 Brute

EV2 Brute New Member

Hi Everyone,
    I am a newbie and am planning to buy a new electric car this summer. The 2022 EV Niro is top on my list because I want a small, user friendly car with physical buttons and decent cargo space. I don't go on road trips and very rarely exceed 100 miles in a single day. I really want a safe, reliable electric, hence these questions:

1. I know that some EV Niros (around 2019) had an engine noise likely caused by a loose bearing. There wasn't an official recall. Doesn't anybody know if this problem has been fixed? Did they replace the engine on all subsequent models?

2. The electric battery lies pretty low under the car. If you ride over a curb, brick, speed bump. etc. could the battery get damaged? Has anyone ever had problems in this area?

3. What's the handling like in the car? I know Kia reduced the torque on the 2023 model. Should I avoid using the Sport mode to prevent skids?

4. I live in The SF Bay Area. Can someone recommend a dealer that you feel good about?

5. There has been a lot in news about Kia/Hyundai fires. Does the EV Niro share a power train, brakes, etc with their ICE cars? I am worried. Should I be?

Thanks for reading. I really like the EV Niro and would love to hear your experience living with one.

Robert Bratton likes this.
  2. To remove this ad click here.

3. shepdave

shepdave New Member

I have had a 2022 Niro EV since October 2021. I've taken it on several road trips on the east coast with no drama. I like the car a lot. It's the second EV I've owned, after a 2019 Chevy Bolt. (GM repurchased my Bolt late last summer after I had applied for a repurchase in the height of the battery-fire scare.)

To answer some of your questions: