Regenerative Braking

Discussion in 'Hyundai Kona Electric' started by Boston Charger, Jun 16, 2019.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Boston Charger

Boston Charger New Member

OK, so I'm new to the EV scene. I can't find, in all that Hyundai docs that they provide, an overall explanation of when to incorporate the RG system into my daily driving. I'm gathering that it be primarily used during braking. Should I have it set at 1 all the time, and increase to 2, or even 3, during braking? If not braking, does being set at a constant 1, say on the highway, create drag which uses more energy, and offsets an possible gain via regeneration? TYIA!

Domenick likes this.
  2. To remove this ad click here.

3. Hey, welcome and congrats on your EV!

The Regen setting is really only whatever you personally like the most. I myself like setting 2 the best for city driving which is most of my driving. I also have auto Regen activated, so it increases automatically to 3 when I stop behind another car at a light.

For extended highway driving 1 or even 0 might be more comfortable since you can take your foot of the pedal without slowing down much.

But, it doesn't have any effect on your consumption. You're not trying to overcome any resistance with a higher setting, that is not what happens.

With a higher setting it only enables you to better one-pedal-drive, to put more energy back into your battery while slowing down in different situations workout using the friction brakes.

I hope this very generic description helped you get an idea.

Sent from my moto x4 using Tapatalk

Brennan Raposo likes this.
  4. "Whatever you personally like" is the key here. Regenerative braking is part of how the car slows down by whatever means you select, including the brake pedal, and it will recover most of that kinetic energy whether you like it or not. Economical driving is much the same as it's always been with ICE cars - drive smoothly and avoid high speeds.