Regen config fail?

Discussion in 'Model Y' started by hobbit, Jun 7, 2023.

To remove this ad click here.

1. hobbit

hobbit Well-Known Member

I briefly took "left seat" in a friend's very new Model Y today, because he seemed to be all confused about
    regen and pedal modes and the like. I wanted to try an experiment, to see if I could implement *my*
    preferred driving style in his car when it would otherwise do it best to annoy me.

Full disclosure: I'm a Kona driver, and like the "long glide" that zero regen gives me. With fully blended
    braking that takes brake'pedal input and stays completely *off* the hydraulics until absolutely needed,
    there are little to no inefficiencies in braking "normally" -- unlike Tesla, where the only regen available
    seems to come from one-pedal style. The feel of which I absolutely *loathe*. I was done with having
    to lock my foot in a narrow range for highway glides after becoming a master of "warp stealth" in my
    beloved Prius, where failure to stay in a tiny deadband would leave the engine wastefully running again.

So the experiment was this: does dropping to Neutral give me the kind of glide I want? Now, I had never
    driven one of these, so it took a little preflight to figure out the shift stick syntax. Okay, half-stick UP and
    hold for half a second for Neutral. Beauty. Short answer, then, is yes on free glide.

But back in D, the car has a *very* aggressive foot-lift regen, which of course I had no practice modulating.
    The owner was trying to remember / figure out how to tailor the regen levels, but neither of us could find
    any menu items other than the "pedal mode" for hold, roll, or creep. That's a different beast. The regen
    annoyance was ever-present, with the car anywhere above about 8 MPH falling on its face on the lift-off no
    matter what. That's just freakin' *dangerous*, see the current General thread about "brake lights don't work".