Raise ground clearance?

Discussion in 'Hyundai Kona Electric' started by world citizen, Dec 23, 2020.

To remove this ad click here.

1. world citizen

world citizen New Member

Does it look possible to increase the ground clearance by about 2" / 5cm to on A Kona with raiser blocks?
    I could make those myself if it's feasible.
    Would appreciate it if someone with a bit of engineering knowledge could look at how the suspension is mounted and give an opinion.
    I live in the countryside (azores Islands) and need the ability to go down unmade tracks.
    I am not interested in handling, the speed limit here is 50mph / 80kmh.

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. GeorgeS

GeorgeS Active Member

Tough nut to crack. I am not a automotive mechanical engineer but have spent 10 years in traffic engineering research. I also do most my own mechanical work. Small disclosure, you will probably screw up your drivetrain warrantee. That said, 2" is a lot to raise a suspension without modifying the frame of the vehicle. I would jack up each wheel independently and see if you can get 2" on each wheel. Next I would take careful measurements on the shocks to see if there might by chance be a air shock modification that you could inflate when needed so as not to drastically degrade handling when not needed. You might even speak with custom chop shops for a airbag solution. They do make bags that go into your springs that expand to stiffen and/or raise your suspension. Be sure you test the turning radius at the extension so you do not damage your tires with interaction with the wheel well.
    Blocks are cheaper but they also take all give out of the suspension. You hit a big hole and might break something without any give. Good luck.