Mini Service Inclusive - Worth It?

Discussion in 'Cooper SE' started by Tommy Electric, Oct 17, 2020.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Tommy Electric

Tommy Electric Active Member

In Australia, Mini offer a pre-paid service plan for new and used Minis. Details of the plan are listed here:

https://www.mini.com.au/service/service-inclusive/

Basically, the plan comes in two tiers: Basic Cover and Plus Cover. For a new Cooper SE (ie. less than 12 months old), the Basic Cover is $800 AUD (approx. $550 USD) and the Plus Cover is $3,326 AUD (approx. $2,300 USD).

Basic Cover includes:
    - Annual vehicle check
    - Replace air filter and aircon microfilter
    - Replace brake fluid

Cover Plus includes these items plus the following:
    - replacement wiper blades
    - brake pad replacement

Both plans cover the car for 5 years or 80,000 km.

This is my first EV so I have no experience with maintenance and servicing. EVs are meant to be much lower maintenance with tires, brakes and wipers being common items requiring servicing.

To me, the Cover Plus looks like a rip off and not worth it. I imagine that with the regenerative braking the brake pads are going to hold up pretty well and won't need to be replaced within five years. Wiper blades are also relatively cheap and can be replaced as needed. This level of cover seems primarily designed for ICE Mini owners who have maybe heard bad stories about Mini reliability and are anxious about their purchase.

Basic Cover, on the other hand, I'm not too sure...

So my questions are: is the $800 AUD for x5 annual vehicle checks with a couple of consumables thrown in make sense? Has anyone heard anything about service scheduling? The whole condition based servicing system in the car makes it hard to judge whether an annual check is even going to be necessary.

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. F14Scott

F14Scott Well-Known Member