Level 1 or Level 2 Charger - charging cost difference?

Discussion in 'General' started by Krseddy, Jul 11, 2019.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Krseddy

Krseddy New Member

hi all!

I'm new to the EV/PHEV world and I've scoured the internet and I can't find a clear answer on this:

I recently purchased a Honda Clarity. Level 1 Charging takes about 10-11 hours to charge from empty to full battery. Level 2 Charging takes usually 3-4 hours.

Does that mean that the electrical cost for Level 2 charging is cheaper than Level 1 charging (10 hours of use vs. 3 hours of use)?

Or are they equal costs because the electricity being used is about the same just coming through at different periods of time (10 hrs at 1 kwh vs 3 hrs at 3 kwh)?

These are kind of made up figures just to see if I'm understanding the point. Thanks!

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. gooki

gooki Well-Known Member

Cost is the same, as total kWh delivered is the same.

4. Krseddy

Krseddy New Member

ok thank you! That's what I figured but wanted to confirm.

5. DucRider

DucRider Well-Known Member

Actually L2 is slightly more efficient and more of the kWh from the wall will make it into the battery. We're only talking a couple of percentage points different, so the actual cost difference is negligible.

bwilson4web and Pushmi-Pullyu like this.
  6. Krseddy

Krseddy New Member

Thanks for that info as well. And yea that’s good to know. I basically pay $2/night and have to wait 11 hours (I have a PHEV and use 85% of the battery each day). So I was wondering if level 2 charging would get that down to say .50 cents or less, but based off your two responses I can see the savings would be minimal compared to the cost of installing the level 2 charger and getting my panel up to 2019 standards.

7. To remove this ad click here.