Juicebox and Chargepoint

Discussion in 'General' started by Dave Lohman, Oct 13, 2022.

To remove this ad click here.

1. New to the forum, but have been enjoying the YouTubes and podcast for years now.

I’ve just about decided to purchase the JuiceBox for an external installation. But in northern Colorado, I’m afraid the cable will be too stiff in the wintertime. Is it possible to replace the cable with the ChargePoint Home Flex cable and connector?

I’ve had my 2019 eGolf for about a year, so I’m still a newbie. Anyone is welcome to redirect me if my question is nuts.

Is there a better option for a lockable outdoor EVSE with a more pliable cable?

Thanks

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. ericy

ericy Well-Known Member

I don't know - I would just try and purchase something that will suit my needs from the start, and not attempt to retrofit something.

Tom Moloughney does lots of reviews of these things, including putting the things in a chest freezer to see how stiff the cable gets.

Tom Moloughney likes this.
  4. Tom Moloughney

Tom Moloughney InsideEVs Staff Subscriber

So it's an external installation so I'm guessing you're hardwiring it (which is recommended for outdoor use)? If it's hardwired, the lockability shouldn't be an issue.

Can I ask you what made you choose the JB over the CP? I do like the JB, but its cable will be a problem outside in Colorado. You can use it, but it will be very stiff and difficult to manage. Yes, you *could* physically swap the cables, but you'd have to buy a ChargePoint Home Flex to get the cable. At that point, why not just use the CP - it's a very good unit also.

Leo Max, Dave Lohman and ericy like this.
  5. teslarati97

teslarati97 Well-Known Member

If you are willing to do a retractable pedestal hardwired EVSE, then it is a moot point for cable stiffness.

6. Puppethead

Puppethead Well-Known Member