Ioniq 5 charge at Tesla supercharger?

Discussion in 'Hyundai Ioniq 5' started by SevereJ, Jan 29, 2024.

To remove this ad click here.

1. SevereJ

SevereJ New Member

Hey all, I'm a complete newb and want to figure out if I can make it to and from a location 150 miles away without Electrify America chargers anywhere in the vicinity (Wisconsin north of Green Bay). There are Tesla destination chargers and superchargers in the vicinity that I could hit and I'm a bit unclear from looking around the internet whether I could charge there safely/effectively.

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. Christopher Beer

Christopher Beer New Member

The Ionic 5 uses the CCS plugs. Most Tesla chargers use NACS plugs. You cannot use a Tesla Super Charger with the Ioniq 5 unless it is a "Magic Dock". The Magic Dock Tesla Super Chargers have both NACS and CCS plugs. There will be adapters available soon, so you can charge a CCS vehicle (like the Ionic 5) at the NACS chargers (most Tesla stations). But I believe being able to buy them is still a ways off.

See this video for more info about the Magic Dock: .

electriceddy and SevereJ like this.
  4. insightman

insightman Well-Known Member Subscriber

@Christopher Beer is right. If you want a fast, DC charge from Tesla, you need to find one of Tesla's ultra-rare Magic Dock charging stations--and have the Tesla app loaded and working on your phone so you can arrange to pay for your charge.

However, you can get a Tesla-to-CCS adapter to charge your Ioniq 5 at one of Tesla's 240-Volt AC, Level 2, "Destination chargers."
    If you're lucky, you might find a hotel that has a Tesla Destination Charger. You should plan on getting a room nearby where you can stay overnight while that 240-Volt current trickles slowly into your Ioniq 5.

5. Sandroad

Sandroad Well-Known Member

Have you used charging station maps to find out if there are other brands of DC fast chargers available on your route?

electriceddy and insightman like this.