Hyndai Kona battery as a power source for industrial equipment

Discussion in 'Hyundai Kona Electric' started by Hugh G. Rektion, Nov 22, 2022.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Hugh G. Rektion

Hugh G. Rektion New Member

Hi!
    Due to frequent power outages, I am considering using an EV battery as a power source for my 3-phase 380v industrial equipment (CNC machine, screw-type air compressor, band saw). The reason I choosing that EV because of its output voltage, which perfectly fits my machines (380v,~ 60A)

But I am a complete amateur in EV and electrical things in general, and therefore I ask you for help on the following:

1. Am i right that in order to use the battery I need to connect the charging device, connect the cooling line which will run through chiller and then connect the phase wires from my machines to battery's output terminals?

2. Will the firmware block the battery's operation if it "finds out" that the battery is being used outside the car?

3. Will I need additional equipment to get the pure sine or the battery provides the pure sine by default?

Will be very apppreciate for any inputs!

electriceddy likes this.
  2. To remove this ad click here.

3. This Kona owners forum is unlikely to be useful for such a technical adventure, especially since it has nothing at all to do with the Kona.

It's clear from your questions that you have a lot of education to acquire in electrical engineering to design and construct such a potentially-hazardous system.