How are people's lease ends going?

Discussion in 'Clarity' started by Mark W, Apr 1, 2021.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Mark W

Mark W Active Member

CT
    Hi all,

My lease is ending in September. I have been fully planning on purchasing the car at lease end. Upon signing at purchase time, the residual sale price was listed as $13,XXX, I don't remember the exact amount. This is my first time ever leasing a car, so I am not familiar with the lease end process. So that residual sale amount is the amount I am supposed to be able to buy the car for at lease end. How has that gone for people? Is anyone getting a lower price offered for purchase? I would think this is about the time where some of the early buyers are coming off lease. Thanks for your help.

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. SThomas219

SThomas219 Active Member

My lease ends in September, too. According to Honda, we should be getting an email from them with End of Lease options. For me, I will be turning it in. I do have some dings which I need to find out if I have to get repaired ahead of time.

Mark W likes this.
  4. djohan621

djohan621 Member

Yes that is the amount you can purchase the car + the sales tax and some doc or transfer fee.
    if you don't plan to keep the car, you can return it but they will check for Wear and Tear, excess milage and might charge you if there is some damage or tire wear off.
    it's better to sell it to Carmax, Carvana , Vroom or Shift.
    The Honda dealer give less than those online.
    for Base Model 2018, 30K miles, good condition online offer is between 16K - 18,5K.

Louis Nisenbaum likes this.
  5. Mark W

Mark W Active Member

CT
    Yes, I am quite a bit over the mileage. I always planned on buying it, so I was not concerned about going over.

6. Mark W

Mark W Active Member

CT
    I thought more people would be reaching their lease end.

7. To remove this ad click here.

8. turtleturtle

turtleturtle Active Member

*shrugs*