HondaLink Charging Status does not update

Discussion in 'Honda' started by Ben Washburn, Sep 11, 2018.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Ben Washburn

Ben Washburn Member

Ok, I'm brand new to Clarity, brand new to Honda, brand new to any sort of electric anything; the last new car I bought was in 1999! So all this electronic magic, is magic to me.

One piece of magic is what I think is called HondaLink--an app on my phone and in the infotainment system. I've installed it to my phone, got the secret number, linked it, seems right, knows my name, my car, status, all that jazz. But it doesn't seem to communicate in real time, at l//r/t charging status. I only get status as of the last time I fiddled with the car, that seems to update automatically, but I can't get real-time updates of the charging status.

So if I plug it in at 6 pm, my phone will update remotely--meaning I don't have it with me when I plug in the car--and show, say, charging with a level of 57% as of 6 pm. If I check my phone an hour later it'll still say charging with a level of 57% as of 6 pm. I swipe it down to force it to update, it spins, relogs, but no update. I can shut the app down, turn off the phone, start over, and it'll log on showing charging with a level of 57% as of 6 pm.

Now, if I go unplug the charger, I'll get an update--say, 77% as of 7 pm or whatever. If I start the electrics, I believe I get an update. So I can 'push' updates from the car--which is pointless--but I can't pull them.

We can stipulate that I'm an idiot when it comes to these things. But beyond that, any ideas what might be wrong? Assuming I SHOULD be able to get real time charging status updates?

And how is it communicating those updates, assuming I should be getting them? Through cell? Some satellite? Can't be wifi, can it? Certainly not bluetooth, or it's only good for 20 feet or something. Could it be because my car is in the garage and whatever magic its using can't penetrate?

Daniel M W likes this.