Feeling a bit discouraged. Best EV for growing family w/ cargo needs?

Discussion in 'General' started by PhantomJT, Mar 11, 2021.

To remove this ad click here.

Tags:
  1. Hi all -

Newbie here. During the last several weeks I've been researching EVs to purchase for my growing family (me, wife, 1yr baby, possible baby #2). I'm discouraged because it seems there may be no 100% EV option given our cargo needs. I'm hoping there may be some other families on this forum that can share how they've managed and which EV they've purchased. Or, am I stuck purchasing a 100% gas or Hybrid?

What are other young EV families driving and how are they carting around all of the baby gear?

My background:
    - Located in GTHA Ontario, so will need to deal with cold winters & warm winters
    - Will commute about an hr to work on the 401 (speeds of aprx 110km/h) 5x/wk
    - I'm 6'2" and prefer not hitting my head on the roof ;)
    - We have a growing family (1yr old and considering baby #2 haha). Trunk space must be able to store stroller and extra bags while having the back seats upright so baby can sit safely in carseat
    - Will get an L2 charger installed in garage at home
    - Have not scheduled a test drive just yet as still in research mode
    - Have considered the Kona, Soul, and Niro Ev but it appears these may not have the greatest cargo space for stroller and bags?

Thanks in advance,
    JT

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. ericy

ericy Well-Known Member

The Niro has better cargo area than the Kona, that's for sure.

What's your timeframe - when do you really need a new car, and what's your budget? There are a number of new entries to the EV world that should come available in the months ahead.

PhantomJT likes this.
  4. aamyotte

aamyotte Active Member