Electric Vehicle Infotainment Graduate Research Help

Discussion in 'General' started by kpourmodheji, Sep 30, 2020.

To remove this ad click here.

1. kpourmodheji

kpourmodheji New Member

Hey there InsideEVs Forum,

I'm currently a graduate student at the University of Wisconsin-Madison's Design and Innovation program. As part of my capstone project, I'm looking to assess the user experience of infotainment systems in EVs. For now, I'm researching all U.S. EVs to understand the infotainment landscape!

I would love to hear about your experiences with EV displays!

What are some aspects you love about your display?

What can't you stand?

Any information will be enormously helpful! Thank you in advance!

All the best,

Kia Pourmodheji

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 30, 2020
  2. To remove this ad click here.

3. davidtm

davidtm Active Member

1. My car (Kia Niro EV) is lacking in more than one resettable trip meter. There is one which is resettable, and the other auto resets after (by choice) either restart of car or 4 hours (approx) of idle time. Not helpful.

2. OEMs should just give up on their own navigation systems, and focus on the latest connection with phones, i.e., wireless Android Auto/Apple CarPlay.

3. More creative use of displays, a seen in some higher end models. Different driver-adjustable combinations of speedo, energy storage/consumption, etc.

4. kpourmodheji

kpourmodheji New Member

David,

This is awesome! Love the detail in this answer! This will be enormously helpful as I continue my research. If you have a chance I'd love to conduct an interview with you and learn more about your experience with the Kia Niro!

All the best,

Kia Pourmodheji

5. ericy

ericy Well-Known Member