Charging from Small Solar Station

Discussion in 'General' started by Tradesmith, May 18, 2023.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Tradesmith

Tradesmith New Member

Hello, I am wondering if it is possible to charge a battery system from a small solar panel over time and then charging my EV truck off that battery? Buying a big solar system in my area is cost prohibitive and would then make it more expensive to drive and charge my truck then just a regular ICE truck. So I'm wondering about just buying several small solar panels that would slowly store up energy in a battery over several days so that I would be able to get maybe 1 charge a week out of it? I'm new to the game and know really nothing about this. I considered buying a Powerwall for this purpose with 4 400W solar panels to charge it.

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. Joe Ventre

Joe Ventre New Member

I don’t have a specific answer but I do charge my EV directly from my solar panels. The inverter for my rooftop solar panels has an outlet on it for a 240 volt power cable. It takes about 5 hours to charge my car from 20 to 80% using a combo of direct solar and AC electric power. I would think any battery that is charged by even a small solar system could be used to charge an EV but even a small solar setup would use a inverter and power directly from that inverter can slowly charge the car if it had the right AC outlet, thus bypassing the need for a battery.

Sent from my iPad using Inside EVs

4. papab

papab Member

Have you looked into a grid tied system for your area? Many electric utilities will pay you for the surplus, then that's the most cost effective way to use solar. For the same money as 1600 W plus powerwall you can get a lot more solar and a grid tied inverter.
    I have 4.4 kw solar and its enuf for me to be net zero annually, including EV. (But I do live in a sunny area)