Charger Review Thread?

Discussion in 'General' started by danrjones, Jan 8, 2023.

To remove this ad click here.

1. danrjones

danrjones Active Member

Am I missing something - I thought there was a sub forum here somewhere for charger reviews. But I'm not seeing it.

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. marshall

marshall Well-Known Member

4. danrjones

danrjones Active Member

Oh ok

I was thinking there was also an area to discuss them.

Thnx

electriceddy likes this.
  5. Good idea, maybe start one, as of now they are spread across all the different manufacture threads. A post/discussion in the general section may help bring all of them together.
    As an electrician, I can contribute my experiences as to durability, quality and ease of installation as well ;)

Fastnf likes this.
  6. bwilson4web

bwilson4web Well-Known Member Subscriber

I actually came here to seek insights and knowledge about EVSE/chargers. I've been slightly disappointed in the EV make and model chauvinism with little or no engineering understanding of why different EVs behave they way they do. But surely we could look at EVSE/chargers with an engineering eye. Happily "InsideEV" is head and shoulders of other forums on this subject.

What I would like to see is J1772 adopt Tesla style, combined AC and DC functions. I'm not impressed by the 400 vs 800 VDC 'issue'. Yet it is like pulling teeth to find the peak DC charging rate and charging curve for any EVs (this means you too Tesla!) . . . end of rant.

Bob Wilson

Fastnf likes this.
  7. To remove this ad click here.

8. danrjones

danrjones Active Member

Well what I was thinking was a sub-forum for chargers reviews. That way different chargers could have their own thread. Tom could also get feedback on his reviews that way - not sure if he comes to this site though for the forums?