Challenges to Level 2 Charging

Discussion in 'General' started by JamesS, Nov 21, 2020.

To remove this ad click here.

1. JamesS

JamesS New Member

I thought I'd share my recent experience on trying to get wired for level 2 charging...
    3 weeks ago I bought a Kia Niro EV, so I'm pretty new to EV's. I figured I could limp by with the included Level 1 charger, but thought life might be easier with a Level 2 added to my garage. I live in So. California in a 25 year old home. Not too old, but the breaker panel became full after I got solar last year. I figured there'd be ways an electrician could work around this. It turns out - not really. I spoke with an electrician this morning and he looked at the panel. Apparently the home is only 100A. So if he tied in another 50A breaker I was told I
    couldn't charge my car and and run the A/C at the same time for danger of overloading. The A/C runs on 50A. I don't think that's very practical, running around and making sure the A/C is off so I can charge the car. The other option getting a whole new circuit box running higher Amps which would cost around $3000. Luckily I work from home and have time to trickle-charge during the work-week.

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. craze1cars

craze1cars Well-Known Member

Level 2 charger draws 32 amps, not 50.
    4 ton central A/C and fan draws around 20 amps, not 50. How big is your A/C? Maybe it has supplemental electric heat within...that could possibly account for the large breaker. But understand that just because an appliance is installed on a 50 amp breaker, this does not mean it draws anywhere near 50 amps. If it does, the breaker is too small.

I don’t know your specifics, but if you have 100 amp service and those are your two big amp pullers, they will only draw about 52 amps when running at the same time. So you have 48 amps left over to run the rest of the house without tripping the main.