Brand new Kona EV owner with a few questions

Discussion in 'Hyundai Kona Electric' started by NA5KAR, Mar 25, 2021.

To remove this ad click here.

1. NA5KAR

NA5KAR New Member

Hello all. Thanks in advance for any guidance. We bought our 2019 Kona Limited EV a couple days ago. It was brand new (17 miles) at a Hyundai dealership in NJ. My wife is driving it home (to Florida) right now. She wanted to do this instead of having it trucked home, so she could stop and visit family along the route, while learning about the car. She is loving the car. So, I have a couple of questions that the forum might be able to help me with.

The first is about home charging. I'm a pretty good amateur electrician. I want to set up a Level 2 home charging station. Are there any resources for learning about what is the best way to do it? I'm very comfortable installing circuit breakers, running cable, and setting up outlets.

I'll also need to know what is the best charging cable setup to buy. I looked briefly online and found a lot of choices. The car comes with a charging cable, but I haven't looked at the charging level yet.

Finally (for now), I've read a few things here about the 2019 batteries. The guys at the dealership said that there were a few recalls on the car, but they were taken care of while the car lived there, so there is nothing outstanding. Should I be concerned?

Thanks for any help.

Dan

electriceddy likes this.
  2. To remove this ad click here.

3. MSimpsonNJ

MSimpsonNJ Active Member

Welcome! Search this forum for lots of info about your questions. Here is a good thread about home chargers: https://www.insideevsforum.com/community/index.php?threads/recommendations-for-nema-30-level-2-charger.10589/

And it links you to other threads on the same topic. I have a ChargePoint and it works great.