Brake light still not staying illuminated when stopped with left paddle

Discussion in 'Hyundai Kona Electric' started by KiwiME, May 31, 2023.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Because it was easy I installed an LED indicator in the hatch area upper opening to indicate when the brake light is "on". Much to my surprise the light does not stay illuminated after stopping with the left paddle, an issue raised in 2018 by numerous owners including The EV Puzzle on YouTube, and one I thought had been corrected with a software update in 2019. So, I've been driving around for 4 years assuming this boneheaded design error had been corrected.
    82702518-DF55-4D0B-A9F0-0CD027573252_1_102_o.jpeg
    535A4ADD-238E-4ECC-B849-FAD3166EF404_1_201_a.jpeg

The 3mm LED has been tapped into the centre brake light via (2) 220 ohm resistors.

electriceddy and hobbit like this.
  2. To remove this ad click here.

3. insightman

insightman Well-Known Member Subscriber

That's a great idea! I did the same thing when I couldn't stand not knowing when my MINI Cooper SE was deciding to illuminate the brake lights in response to regen braking. The interior brake LED has helped me modify my driving style a bit to minimize frequent flashing.

Years later and I'm still sending a free 12V LED to anyone who wants one. Just send me a message with your address. I've sent out 6 or 7 of the 100 I had to buy to get one with the resistor built-in.

In InsideEVs' MINI Cooper SE forum someone described seeing another MINI Cooper, but didn't get a good enough look to see the EV logo that would confirm it was an SE. A fellow forum member's reply still makes me laugh: Did you notice if the brake lights were flashing on and off?

KiwiME likes this.