Anyone know whether the IRS considers any of the EV rebates to be taxable?

Discussion in 'Clarity' started by Texas22Step, Aug 17, 2018.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Texas22Step

Texas22Step Well-Known Member

I bought a new Clarity recently and successfully applied for a state “rebate,” but does anyone know whether the feds consider these payments to be federally taxable? My state collects the federal tax ID form with every rebate application.

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. KentuckyKen

KentuckyKen Well-Known Member

As with any legal or tax matter, it gets complicated very quickly. Here’s the quick ans dirty:
    My Googlefru shows that if it’s a tax credit then no. But if it’s a tax rebate and you have less tax liability than the rebate then it’s like a cash payment to you and is a capital gain. But be aware that legal opinions vary on this.
    Best bet is to have your tax preparer guru advise you.

Full disclosure: I am not a tax lawyer and don’t pretend to be one or even play one on TV. I am not responsible for any incarceration cause by reading this post but will try to visit you in prison if they have a public charger.

4. Texas22Step

Thanks for your input, and yes, I can see how this can be complicated, especially since I am wondering about FEDERAL tax treatment of a STATE payment where the particular state making the payment has no state income tax to offset in the first place! Yikes!

Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Inside EVs mobile app

5. sshams95

sshams95 New Member

You would think that if it is taxable, we would receive a 1099 from the state.

markc, K8QM and MPower like this.
  6. leehinde

leehinde Active Member

The local utility will provide a level 2 charger or $599. I assume that amount is meant to be below the 10-99 reporting level. I'm going to report to to my accountant as income and let him sort it.

7. To remove this ad click here.

8. Carro con enchufe

Carro con enchufe Active Member

Rebates are not taxable