Alternator ideas

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by PGuillory71, Apr 26, 2020.

To remove this ad click here.

1. PGuillory71

PGuillory71 New Member

I am very new to this or any EV forum, so I do not know where to post this. My background in not in engineering, nor do I claim to have any working knowledge of an electronic vehicle. The following is just an idea or a more of a question that I have had for nearly 30 years. I have held a few conversations with other very normal people whom are not electrical or mechanical engineers as well. During these discussions, I was told that I should share the idea or ask the question. Like I said, this has been an idea that I have had for nearly 30 years, and with the rapid commercial expansion into the reality of electric vehicles, I find this an appropriate time to ask this without fear of wide criticism.

The alternator in a combustion engine is turned by a belt and is the electric power source of a vehicle. Obviously the power must be stored in the battery and so forth, but once the engine is started the alternator takes as the electrical power source for the vehicle and it even charges the battery. With the exception of the fuel to fire the combustion engine, the alternator powers literally everything else.

In a hybrid vehicle the batteries are recharged during the operation of the combustion engine. It is my understanding that a hybrid vehicle does not need plugged in for charging due to the combustion engine and alternator charging the batteries for use when necessary.