22 Kona - Reduction Gear Fluid Inspect vs Change

Discussion in 'Hyundai Kona Electric' started by Surlycat, Mar 23, 2024.

To remove this ad click here.

Tags:
  1. Surlycat

Surlycat Member

I'm not a car expert, so be patient...o_O

My 2022 Kona just hit 30,000 miles. For the last few weeks there has been a low engine rumble sound as I accelerate slowly - it's especially noticeable in the morning. Not quite at the Wheel of Fortune sound, but increasing/deepening.

1. Is this due to the reduction gear fluid being dirty with metal shavings (as was discovered in the earlier EV models)?
    2. If so, what evidence do I need to provide my service dealer (Southern California) so that they replace this oil rather than just check it (which is not suggested on the maintenance schedule until 35,000)?
    3. If not - what might that sound be?

My vehicle already had the wireless phone charger replaced and the battery replaced under warranty due to recall and faulty BMS update. I'm starting to feel nervous that I shouldn't have purchased this car, which I really enjoy but don't know what to expect from in terms of engine noises etc. With my ICE cars I had a sense of which noises were normal, and I was vigilant about changing the engine oil.

What's your advice/insight?
    Feeling a bit angsty...:(

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. Almost certainly it's going to be either the motor or gear reducer, both somewhat common problems. The motor may have been improved in newer examples but there are still reports of occasional failures. The gear reducer cannot be repaired by simply changing the oil and this weakness is present (and remains) in all first-gen Kona EVs. For whatever reasons they have avoided rectifying either issue until the 2024 Kona gen-2 version.