HVAC me please

Discussion in 'Cooper SE' started by Brawndo, Nov 15, 2022.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Brawndo

Brawndo Member

With the weather turning, would someone be willing to decipher the Mini HVAC for me? The Motorer's Guide isn't all that great.

I assume most efficient way of heating the cabin is Auto mode. On my car, I can adjust fan speed when on Auto, which in my opinion, isn't really auto. Turning it off Auto only adds the selection of which vent(s) air comes out of. Is this normal?

My car will occasionally switch the AC on. Is this the heat pump? Is the heat pump like a house heat pump where it just runs the AC circuit backwards (aka efficient)? Should I be switching this off or not?

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. I'm no expert but I daily drive with the AC always ON and set the heating at 18 deg C with Auto ON. Occasionally I turn on the recirculation when driving in tunnels or similar. It turns itself OFF after about a minute. My Mini is the Essential version with only the most basic accessories.

AndysComputer and Brawndo like this.
  4. teslarati97

teslarati97 Well-Known Member

Somewhere in the -4F range the auxiliary resistance heater kicks in as the refrigerant compression efficiency is just not there (has to be cooler to be heated by outside air).

Roughly speaking, a household heat pump should have an additional exterior condensate drain that tends to ice dam in cold climates. The MINI SE uses a chiller that is more like a fridge/freezer to avoid the icy mess. This is generally the way with the exception of Tesla and their octovalve system.

polyphonic and Brawndo like this.
  5. GvilleGuy

GvilleGuy Well-Known Member

I run with Auto on 100% of the time, and I find it does very well. But I love the feature which maintains the auto temp but allows you to adjust the intensity by turning the fan higher. I like to feel air moving.

AndysComputer and kicksology like this.
  6. Puppethead

Puppethead Well-Known Member