How Much Range is Enough Range?

Discussion in 'General' started by Smitty79, Apr 16, 2022.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Smitty79

Smitty79 Member

I just listened to this week's podcast. Lots of different numbers; anywhere from 225 to 400. The panel rightly said that it's dependent on availability of chargers and charging rates.

I have done a 5000 mile road trip in 12 days and I regularly drive from near Portland Oregon to near San Francisco. So I have some experience using the range in my Model 3.

I think the key issue is time. My definition of a road tripable EV is that the car/charging infrastructure combination need to be able to complete a drive in no more than 5% more time than it would take for an ICE car.

I'm 65, so I'm going to stop twice in a 10 hour drive with an ICE car. Stopping 4 times and taking 10.5 hours to complete the same drive is fine. Someone younger, with a stronger bladder, might to my ICE 10 hour drive in 9.5. Finish that drive in a little under 10 hours, in an EV would also be fine.

If you almost never go on road trips, you might have different ideas of good. My own personal long term plan is to have a good road tripping car and second car that can do around town driving (200 mi range is fine) and hauling. For Teslas, a Model Y long range and a minimum Cybertruck would be great. But an EV6 and a Ford Lightning would work too.

Domenick and bwilson4web like this.
  2. To remove this ad click here.