Battery Recall for Canadian Kona Owners

Discussion in 'Hyundai Kona Electric' started by mcsquared, May 31, 2021.

To remove this ad click here.

1. KonaTom

KonaTom Well-Known Member

I will do that next time I head in there!

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. KonaTom

Do either of you work at the school board, as I see my twin parked there often.

4. I don’t. I work in Victoria but currently work from home in Cowichan Bay.

Sent from my iPhone using Inside EVs

5. No I don't either. I'm in the Victoria area. Ceramic blue seems to have been a popular color here. I see them quite often.

6. KonaTom

Yeah and I believe it is discontinued on the 2022 models

EVatLast likes this.
  7. To remove this ad click here.

8. Is there any clear pattern to battery replacements yet?

2019 Ultimate with 12/28/18 build date

9. Does anybody else experience multiple charge "top-up" notifications in quick order? I've had the car for 2 1/2 years and haven't experienced this until very recently. It makes me think something funny is going on with the battery but what?

Attached Files:

10. KonaTom

I don't think there will be a clear pattern. My dealer said it was based on purchase delivery date, and of course, it would depend on when the dealer sent the orders to Hyundai, and how long it took for the shipments to arrive at each dealer, so I think it will be all over the place. I know Ontario received a shipment before they showed up in BC, so some Ontarians should get them earlier, but my dealer on Vancouver Island is already installing them.

11. KonaTom

does anyone know if we will get a new battery warranty with the replacement batteries?

navguy12 likes this.
  12. To remove this ad click here.

13. I have my replacement this week, I'll ask when I'll drop the car. I expect that the same 8 years and 160k will not change (from day 1)