Vehicle-2-Home

Discussion in 'Clarity' started by alc, Mar 16, 2020.

To remove this ad click here.

1. alc

alc New Member

Hi Guys,

I am fairly new to my Clarity and to PHEVs. I really have enjoyed the first 800 miles, but it with everything that is going on it got me thinking about getting a generator and a transfer switch. Then I read a couple articles where Mitsubishi in Europe and Japan is working on a system to allow you to use a Mits PHEV to charge via solar and also use the PHEV to power your house at peak times. There are also some folks that are using their Nissan Leafs as backup battery sources in cases of emergency. So I wanted to pose a few questions to the forum:

1) Could you attach a DC to AC inverter to the Clarity to power your house in case of emergency? Is this even possible or does the Honda software prevent you from doing this?
    2) If the battery started to run low, would the ICE kick in to charge the battery?
    3) As I understand it, the ICE will only charge the battery to ~58%. Will the ICE charge the battery at idle or does it need to be on the road to charge the battery?
    4) I have also heard that the charging time to 58% by the ICE is ~1 hour at highway speeds. Is there any way to determine what it would be at idle?
    5) How much gas do you think it would use to charge the battery?

Let's hear from the folks smarter than me on their thoughts or anyone who has given this a shot.

Thanks.

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. KentuckyKen

KentuckyKen Well-Known Member

I have not tried this, but as I understand it from reading all the posts here is that the 12 Volt battery is only charged when the car is turned on to the ready to drive position. (Don’t know about the in between position)