Trying to ease my mind some re BMS etc. recalls

Discussion in 'Hyundai Kona Electric' started by hwitten, Oct 23, 2020.

To remove this ad click here.

1. My charging is mostly at home, inside my detached garage.
    Formalizing what I've been doing anyways, since 2020 Ultimate was new, 12000 km ago.
    1) Charge to 80% max
    2) Unplug when charge is complete. (used to leave it plugged in after charge done).
    new:
    3) After charge settles some, collect cell data with Car Scanner Pro (iOS)
    4) Look for cell variations.
    5) continue to enjoy the Kona unless #4 shows a nasty.

Occasionally I may charge to 100%, if I can use 10-20% right away so high SOC is at a minimum.

Similar monitoring after the occasional DC charge to 80% if on a road trip.

Does that sound like a reasonable approach or am I missing something ?
    Not panicking, just trying to mitigate surprises :)

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. Other than storage in your garage, it sounds like you are taking the correct actions.

4. I personally keep an eye on the cell voltage once in a while via OBD2 and torque pro.

I've never had more than a momentarily 0.02V deviation. That deviation happens while driving or charging, only for a couple seconds, so I'm sure it's normal.

I thinks that's an acceptable approach.

5. Yeah, I thought about leaving it outside but it would require some EVSE relocation or extending. Not leaving it plugged in once charge is complete should mitigate that some. However, I am going to add a Nest Protect near the Kona. It should (hopefully) give me time to move my Volvo outside as it reports on smoke, etc. throughout the house.
    Should also help that nowadays I'm either in the Kona or at Home :)

electriceddy likes this.
  6. Just limiting to charge to 80% is the main thing, including that you're abiding by Hyundai's advisory on that point.
    I can't see any issue with leaving it plugged in after it has hit the limiter.
    Cancel that, it's advised to unplug.