My First Mini SE Road Trip in SC, and Maybe my Last...for Now

Discussion in 'Cooper SE' started by GvilleGuy, Apr 27, 2021.

To remove this ad click here.

1. GvilleGuy

GvilleGuy Well-Known Member

I am new to commenting about and calculating battery range and efficiency. So feel free to kindly give me some corrections here!

The weather was beautiful last Sunday. A great day for a drive! My wife and I loaded up to drive to her mom’s house 90 miles away.

5FB260A5-5FA6-4EAC-8498-2A6D87C9BE0D.jpeg

She was a good sport and helped me log data every 30 minutes of our drive - for example - our start data:

Temp 55F
    Battery 100%
    GOM Range 103 miles in Green mode

And then 30 minutes in we logged 59F, 87% batt, GOM 91 miles, 20 miles driven, avg speed 40.1, mi/kWh 4.3
    Etc.

DRIVING TOPOGRAPHY
    Our home town, Greenville, is located in the foothills of SC. Columbia is down in the midlands. The elevation drop from our house to the Electrify America charging station 86 miles away is 500 feet (I know, it’s not the Rockies). The roads and interstates are not flat...ever. You drive over a series of rolling hills the entire time down to Columbia.

THE OUTBOUND DRIVE
    Green mode, 20 miles back roads, 66 miles interstate. ACC set to 72 the ENTIRE time. Never had to disable cruise until we exited the interstate.

We arrived at the Electrify America station after 86.1 miles. GOM Range left = 27 miles, mi/kWh = 4.0, avg speed 58, battery left 27%.

668E31A3-D62D-495F-A43C-174C2BDC0048.jpeg

STATION REVIEW