mini cooper se parking brake not engaged automatically

Discussion in 'Cooper SE' started by Tony Peng, Sep 19, 2022.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Tony Peng

Tony Peng New Member

Does anyone know how to set the parking brake to engage automatically every time mini se put to “P” to prevent the car from “shaking” after release the brake paddle after put to “p”?

I looked thought the manual but only find it says “In some parking situations, the parking brake is automatically en-gaged, when selector lever position P is engaged.”

Not only it never happen to my se 2023, but I also prefer to have it always automatically engaged when put to “p”.

Please help, thank you in advance!

Sent from my iPhone using Inside EVs

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. Rexsio

Rexsio Well-Known Member

4. Rexsio

Rexsio Well-Known Member

Not only read manual but go to a car and play with a stick I went to my car right now to see what you talking about bc I have 6 years experience with I 3 I realy don’t pay attention what you describe bc I do all automatically but any time on my slopes down driveway I put put SE in park a brakes automatically apply but as I’m in garage on flat floor I apply a brakes by myself bc they don’t engage automatically but as you know with ACE cars P hold your car on place and not so many people apply a brakes when they park cars with automatic transmission

Tony Peng likes this.
  5. Tony Peng

Tony Peng New Member

Thank you. I’ll test it on the slope next time.

Sent from my iPhone using Inside EVs

6. chrunck

chrunck Well-Known Member

The car will put itself into park when you turn it off, so I would recommend setting the brake instead of hitting P. Then the parking brake will always be on.

SameGuy likes this.
  7. To remove this ad click here.

8. SameGuy

SameGuy Well-Known Member Subscriber

YUL
    What’s wrong with just setting the brake? It’s not like some 1988 Belarus farm tractor with a lever that needs Popeye’s arm to engage.