Charging at 60 amps issue

Discussion in 'ID.4' started by ebennettr, Dec 10, 2021.

To remove this ad click here.

1. ebennettr

ebennettr New Member

With my ChargePoint I sometimes can’t charge at 60 amps. If I try it gutted to the default kw level. If I reduce the amp setting in the ChargePoint settings to 50 amps I get 8 kw. The circuit is 60 amp. ChargePoint already provided a replacement unit because the first one had the same symptoms and thought it could be a faulty unit.

Is it the ID that’s the problem? Suggestions? Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Inside EVs

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. midsail

midsail New Member

Greeting n Happy Holidays
    I am not an electrician but did research when first buying an EV. After reviewing several make n models. All of the EV chargers including the Charge Point, recommendation when installing a 60 Amp breaker it would delivered 48 AMP (max) safely. There are some safety issue when install the circuit breaker. Found a simple expansion for this safety recommendations at the following website:

https://bigceramicstore.com/pages/info-ceramics-kiln_powerCURRENT (AMPERAGE OR "AMPS")
    *Kilns is a ceramic oven, but this article gives a pretty good explanation of allowed amperage.

120 V kilns usually go up to 30 amps maximum.
    208 V and 240 V Kilns are designed for 30, 40, 50 amps or more. At 48 amps and above, kilns do not come with plugs; instead they must be wired directly into your power supply. This is because good electrical design practice limits the amperage requirements of a kiln to 80% of the circuits rating. The largest rated commonly available plug/receptacle you can get is 50 amps. The next larger sized breaker is 60 amps. 80% of that is 48 amp, hence the limit.