2022 EV Niro vs. Nissan Leaf... Which should I buy?

Discussion in 'LEAF' started by EV2 Brute, Jun 14, 2022.

To remove this ad click here.

1. EV2 Brute

EV2 Brute New Member

Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie and am looking to buy an EV that is small, user friendly with physical buttons and decent cargo space. These cars fit the bill but I have issues with both. My main problem with the Leaf is the air cooled battery. I live in the SF Bay Area which can get hot during the summer. Chademo is not much of a problem. since I very rarely drive more than 100 miles round trip in a day. I am looking at the SV plus trim. I do worry about the Leaf's air cooled battery, however. What do people do to keep the battery "happy"? If you own a Leaf, do you find it reliable? How much maintenance might I expect the first year (and then after)?

The Niro has a CCS connector and a liquid cooled battery. I am most concerned about reliability of this car. Lots of forum posts mentioned a knocking sound in the motor. Some motors were replaced during the first year of ownership. Supposedly this issue was fixed by 2020 but I still find posts mentioning this problem in 2022 new cars. Plus, lately there has been a lot of press about Kia/Hyundai fires in their ICE cars. Sorry, but can Kia be trusted? No I am not a troll... just a person who wants a safe, dependable EV above all else. If you have a EV Niro, please tell me your opinion of it. Thanks for reading.

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. Paul K

Paul K Active Member