How to reenable High Voltage for drive and charging, after an accident?

Discussion in 'Model 3' started by Yusef Ague Gonzalez, Dec 10, 2019.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Yusef Ague Gonzalez

Yusef Ague Gonzalez New Member

Hello, I've seen a video about hidden screens in Tesla Model 3, particularly the hidden menu that has access to can bus signals. I'm trying to recover a Tesla Model 3 that was involved in a frontal crash, and was stored for some time, so the batteries (main and 12 V) were discharged.
    I'm an electronic engineer, I like EVs, but before invest in parts to repair this car, I need to know if the car is going to work. I put a 12 V battery, since the original had only 2 volts, the computer starts normally, signaling several errors, since the crash was frontal and affected the front bumper and radiator, I bypassed the coolant to test, and now the only error is "airbags needs service" and "autopilot unavailable". But airbags were never deployed. I opened the penthouse, and check the main battery, it had 75 V, so I connected a charger directly and charged it slowly, now it has 386 V and the computer shows "72 %". But it is not possible to charge with a Tesla charger, nor drive, because the magnetic contactors do not work. I opened the PCU, and all fuses are ok, also the other 3 fuses in the penthouse and the pyro fuse.
    My question is: Why the computers does not turn on the magnetic contactors? the high voltage lines are all perfect. The battery has now a usable voltage, and the two halves are exactly balanced (measuring from pyro fuse to + and -). It is possible that the car is disabled, because of the accident? the title is clean, is not a salvaged car. I don't want to go to Tesla service.