Honda HR-V wheels for winter

Discussion in 'Clarity' started by eejake, Oct 12, 2019.

To remove this ad click here.

1. eejake

eejake New Member

Hello all,

Its my first time posting on the forum, I wanted to thank everyone for posting all the useful information here. It helped me with the purchase and to get a great price as well as helped with the small adventure I've been through post purchase (said adventure did get me some pretty interesting photos of the underbody systems with all the covers removed that I'll share in another thread). I'm a long time DIY car person and I always use a second set of used OEM rims for winter tires. It took me a bit of research but the HR-V wheels (17x7.5 with identical center bore and a 55mm offest) turned out to be a nice fit for the Clarity in my opinion. Specifically they're 2018 wheels with Nokian Hakapellitta R3's at 215/55 R17. The slight offset brings the tires in a bit and I think that should help keep the slush from spraying out onto the sides of the body. The wheels were about 300$ shipped from a junkyard and the Haka's were about 800 installed with a road hazard warranty if anyone is interested.

20191012_104413_HDR.jpg 20191012_103455.jpg 20191012_103522_HDR.jpg 20191012_103529.jpg 20191012_103541.jpg

PS: I didn't add the pinstripes, haha, they look tacky and I plan on removing them.

Domenick, 4sallypat and Lucien Mcleod like this.
  2. To remove this ad click here.

3. David in TN

David in TN Well-Known Member

Back in the day, when I lived in areas where snow was a regular occurrence, I typically ran Hakka's in the winter (had a guy once say..."those look more like teeth than tires!") I usually had a pile of wheels laying around where I swapped out regularly -- but those were usually 14", which wouldn't fit a Clarity.

It's almost sad that I only see snow a couple of times a year, and then it rarely covers the streets.

This looks like a good solution for you! Congrats!!

4. larrenz

larrenz Member