Planning long trips

Discussion in 'Kia Niro' started by DerekA, Oct 11, 2019.

To remove this ad click here.

1. DerekA

DerekA New Member

I have about 1000 miles on my EV so I'm still learning how to cope with charging. For my day-to-day commuting, it's easy, I have a JuiceBox 40A charger I installed in my garage. However, I have been exploring the idea of a longer road trip. My friends Tesla figures it all out for you, so I'm trying to figure out how to do that with my Niro.

Is there a good app for that? I have the Plug Share app and the one for Chargepoint, but neither seems to have that capability. Is there some other app I need for that kind of functionality? I can do it manually on the Chargepoint app, but I'm still a little weak on the lingo... Which chargers can I use? That kind of stuff. I have to figure that L2 chargers are impractical for long trips, other than overnight. I know we can't use the ChadeMo (sp?) without an adapter and the other L3s are just called "Combo". Is that the one we use?

Thanks in advance...

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. krumbs

krumbs New Member

I am not sure of an app that will plan it all out for you as I have only done city driving so far. But the Level 3 Fast Charger you need is the CCS/SAE Combo. In the Plugshare app you can set the filter to only show you the Combo chargers. That should help with your planning.

4. TandM

TandM Active Member

I like ABetterRoutePlanner.com (though it is definitely still beta and I do find I need to supplement with Plugshare). ABRP does help figure out thing like elevation changes, weather, etc.

Plugshare has a new trip planner feature but it doesn't seem to keep any of my preferences in mind when I am trying to plan a route in the app (it works better on the website though).

5. MartyDow

MartyDow Active Member

Totally agree -ABRP is the bomb...

6. TheHellYouSay

TheHellYouSay Member