Proposed tire rotation scheme?

Discussion in 'Clarity' started by Fast Eddie B, Sep 6, 2019.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Edd

Edd New Member

So you don't x out the tires? I thought that was what had to be done. be much easier to do front to rear is thats all it takes.

So youve done this before and no issue?

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. craze1cars

craze1cars Well-Known Member

Correct. And for 25 years as a field based employee I drove cars for a living....between 60k and 90k miles a year. I burned up a LOT of cars and a lot of tires in my care. And I did all maintenance and repairs on every car myself.

I can’t recall ever replacing a set of tires before 60k, and many sets went well past 80k. Just leave the left side on the left, right side on the right. Trade them every 7k to 10k or so. And manually check tire pressure every 2 weeks. Without exception. This is critical to long tire life. Never trust the on board tire pressure systems. Not accurate enough on most cars.

And never waste money on an alignment for any car that is wearing tires evenly. They’ll just screw it up most of the time....keep the good alignment you already have. Only get an alignment if you notice uneven tire wear that is not caused by failure to maintain tire pressure. And rebalancing tires is also a waste. They get balanced once at install and never need it again unless a weight gets knocked off.

Last edited: Sep 19, 2019
    2002 likes this.
  4. ClarityBill

ClarityBill Active Member

My OEM tires only made 30K, but the wear was the center of each tire - overpressure. I thought I was maintaining at 36 psi, but something was not right...

craze1cars likes this.
  5. su_A_ve

su_A_ve Active Member

Did you check the tire pressure at delivery? Many had the tires over inflated by the dealers...

6. ClarityBill

ClarityBill Active Member