Tesla Magic Dock and Kona Electric

Discussion in 'Hyundai Kona Electric' started by JoeS, Mar 28, 2023.

To remove this ad click here.

Tags:
  1. Scotts Valley Tesla Supercharger is one of very few locations in the country that has been modified to accept US CCS1 dc fast charging vehicles.
    Took our new used 2020 Hyundai Kona Electric Ultimate there, and it worked fantastically using the Tesla app.
    The adapter is very cleverly integrated into the Tesla charging station and simply gets unlocked using the app. Pulling on the handle brings out the Tesla handle plus the adapter. Not using the app, the Tesla handle alone comes out normally.
    Charged at around 40kW with a 40%SoC. I have no experience to determine if this is normal for the Kona.

IMG_5922.JPG
    IMG_5926.JPG

Kirk, Domenick and electriceddy like this.
  2. To remove this ad click here.

3. As much as Tesla often rubs me the wrong way, I have to applaud their engineers for coming up with this brilliant solution to what I thought was a nearly-unsolvable problem, applicable mostly only to N. America.

As Tesla use a normal CCS Combo 2 on all their chargers (and all cars sold new) here I thought we would be first on the list but that's not been the case. Despite that I'm in a relatively rural part of an island, there's a cluster of three 250kW units about 15 km away. They were flooded last month but are now working.

The slightly different situation we currently have is that Teslas have always been able to use the chargers that non-Tesla owners use, and usually do more than using Tesla chargers, so this would even out the playing field.

upload_2023-3-29_10-20-20.png

electriceddy likes this.
  4. First Kona EV I have seen posted using Magic dock. Looks like the lead was plenty long enough without violating adjoining space. Good to know it actually communicates and charges properly. Thanks for posting;)

HyperSmiler likes this.