Shifter, love it? hate it? don't care?

Discussion in 'Cooper SE' started by Ericwc, Aug 11, 2022.

To remove this ad click here.

1. SameGuy

SameGuy Well-Known Member Subscriber

YUL
    Indeed!

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. insightman

insightman Well-Known Member Subscriber

Well, MINI owners won't have the console shifter to complain about much longer. The Motoring File reports:
    "The automatic transmission gear lever is now going to be on the dash and next to it the return of a twist to start rather than a button."

I've always wondered what to call our SE's starter. Is it a switch, a lever, or a button?

4. Puppethead

Puppethead Well-Known Member

It's identical to the ICE models except color, but it doesn't start an engine, just turns on the SE. I'm no mechanical engineer, but isn't it a toggle since it snaps back to original position?

5. teslarati97

teslarati97 Well-Known Member

I was going to say momentary on toggle switch but you can flip up or press down and it still works. Does that makes it an "on-off-on momentary" toggle switch then?

Last edited: Aug 20, 2022
    insightman likes this.
  6. MichaelC

MichaelC Well-Known Member

Yes.
    • It has a form factor of a toggle switch.
    • It operates by moving it like a lever.
    • The owner's manual calls it the "Start/Stop Button".

GetOffYourGas and insightman like this.
  7. To remove this ad click here.

8. CruiseEV22

CruiseEV22 New Member

I had the same thought that it was software related, but haven’t had time to fiddle with BimmerCode. Since I haven’t noticed any odd driving behavior, I’ll skip the visit to the dealer for now. Let me know if the hardware replacement resolves the issue. Thanks!

9. Rexsio

Rexsio Well-Known Member