Clarity PHEV vs Rav4 Prime observations

Discussion in 'Clarity' started by Ray B, Aug 2, 2022.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Ray B

Ray B Active Member

My wife recently received her '22 Rav4 Prime SE and I've had a couple of opportunities to drive it after about 4 years driving my 2018 base Clarity PHEV. Just a few quick observations on differences - mostly the driving and convenience features ... (I'm a noob to the R4P so some of these may be moot if I research it a little more)
    • Regen is only through the brake pedal - no paddles. It's fine, but I just like to drive with the paddles doing most of my braking around the local roads
    • Pedestrian 'music' warning is much more obnoxious, and persists up to ~22 mph. Even plays when the car is 100% stopped at a stop light
    • The cruise control needs to be turned on every time you want to use it after the car has been shut down. It shuts it off when the car is 'rebooted'
    • ACC following distance defaults to 3 bars and it doesn't remember the setting when rebooted. So when I want to use ACC in the R4P I have to switch it on, set my speed and change my following distance, rather than just hitting 'Set' in the Clarity
    • The engine is quiet, but a little more noticeable than the Clarity in HV mode around town probably more more vibration than outright noise.
    • The overall ride is obviously much different and not 1:1 comparable, but overall the Clarity in EV is smoother and quieter, as you would expect.
    • The R4P dash display is very busy but paradoxically has less detail than the Clarity. Some examples... EV range estimate is in full digits (no decimals = no big deal for me), EV battery gauge is an analog dial, but there are no gradations, the power meter is off to the left and not in the line of sight which would be better IMHO, overall more info clutter when using the range estimate screen option. Here's an example image from https://everydaytoyota.ca/2022-toyota-rav4-interior/[​IMG]