Repair issues and fixes

Discussion in 'Hyundai Kona Electric' started by Francois, Oct 7, 2019.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Yuri Niro

Yuri Niro New Member

Thanks to KiwiME for his deep insight of the debris in reduction gear problem. Also my gratitude to OzKona for ordering/posting here the used oil test.
    I own a Kia Niro EV in Moscow, Russia, bought it from SK with 42000 km on the odometer in November 2020. Changed the oil in December 2020, it was black and dirty, the same as in other Hyundai/Kia EV owners reports. I used Liqui Moli TopTec MTF 5300 70w-75. My current mileage is 72000 km, think it’s time to replace the oil again, already ordered 2 drain plugs advised by KiwiME.
    Can order the used oil test if it will be useful

navguy12, OzKona and KiwiME like this.
  2. To remove this ad click here.

3. Not that I'm an expert on reading these but the aluminium and silicon levels are unexpected. It's certain the analysis company no idea how this gearbox is constructed so their generic comments are reasonable.

In my opinion the aluminium can only result from bearing outer raceways spinning occasionally in the housing, and that's confined to the input and intermediate shafts because the output shaft races should be a press fit. If it's the input shaft that's likely due to the over-constrained situation that occurs when the motor is bolted in place. The motor shaft will will support that end of the input shaft and not allow the nearby gearbox bearing to carry the full load. Another possibility is that ferrous debris entering the bearing causes drag that increases the likelihood of spinning the outer raceway. And the last and most unlikely (due to the locale :)) is that the additional drag due to cold oil kicked it off.

The silicon loading can only likely be from dirt entering through the vent. Are you driving on dusty roads? A second analysis in perhaps a year would provide more insight.

Thanks for sharing this!

upload_2021-12-4_7-41-56.png