Disabling the AVAS

Discussion in 'Clarity' started by Dr. Kris, Apr 6, 2021.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Dr. Kris

Dr. Kris New Member

Hello All,
    I recently became a new owner of a 2018 Honda Clarity, Base model, and so far I've been loving the car. What I haven't been loving is the AVAS and how I can always hear it when driving under 20mph. I was able to *allegedly* disable the AVAS speaker on my car and thought I'd share how I did it since I've seen a lot of questions about it but no one posting a solution.

DISCLAIMER: I'm an engineer, not a lawyer, and take no responsibility if you decided to perform this modification on your vehicle. This post is for information purposes only and you should consult your legal professional for information pertaining to the legality of disabling the AVAS on your vehicle.

To start, the AVAS speaker on the 2018 model is located right behind the lower bumper assembly on the driver's side. Its a simple round looking speaker thing bolted onto a bracket.

Capture.JPG

You can't get to the speaker from the top side of the engine bay, you have to access it from underneath the car. Getting to it isn't too hard, simply remove the lower shroud between the lower bumper and the shroud that goes under the engine. Removing it requires removing two screws (10mm hex head) and about 800 million plastic rivet clips. Once the shroud is removed, you can access the speaker from underneath the front bumper.
    WP_20210405_18_17_35_Pro.jpg

To remove the speaker, simply unscrew the two fasteners on the bracket, disconnect the power clip, and it drops right out.

WP_20210405_18_31_24_Pro.jpg