Oil change intervals. I give up

Discussion in 'Clarity' started by Tek_Freek, Feb 11, 2021.

To remove this ad click here.

1. I cannot for the life of me find what I consider a reliable set of miles/dates for changing oil. Someone has to know. If you do would you tell me?

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. Boston_Pilot

Boston_Pilot Active Member

Every 7500 miles of ICE use, or 1 year.

4. So 5,913 miles in just shy of two years with no change means I'm overdue? I don't recall any notices on the dash.

5. Clarity_Newbie

Clarity_Newbie Active Member

One way is to understand your driving habits. Speed demon? Stop n go traffic? Terrain/mountains? Highway vs local?

In my case, I am a sedate driver with not much stop n go traffic n limited highway miles. I drive ~70% in ev mode which translates to ~7500 miles on ice when odo hits 25k...which is when I will change oil...or one year from previous oci...which ever comes first.

Manual does allow for one year OCI'S at user discretion. Most seem to base it on percent of EV usage vs ice.

Some folks follow the maintenance minder (MM) which has demonstrated a propensity to breathlessly inform the driver of a needed oil change between ~6500 - 7500 miles odo... regardless of miles on ice. MM is predominantly based on time between service X or service Y. Several threads are out there discussing MM data if your interested.

Develop a plan which suits your clarity based on your specific situation.

Good luck.

6. PHEVDave

PHEVDave Active Member

At 5,913 miles I wouldn’t say you’re terribly overdue but generally the oil should get changed once a year even if you have zero miles.

7. To remove this ad click here.

8. Just ordered ramps and jack stands. Checking size for copper crush washers. At least it's decent winter weather here so no freezing cold while doing it.

9. PHEVDave

PHEVDave Active Member