Tips for first long drive?

Discussion in 'Hyundai Kona Electric' started by MSimpsonNJ, Feb 7, 2021.

To remove this ad click here.

1. MSimpsonNJ

MSimpsonNJ Active Member

As I mentioned in a different post, I am new to EV'S, just picked up my Kona EV from the dealer yesterday, and have just decided that I am going to take it on a 1200 mile trip to Florida in less than a week. The original plans was to rent a car for this trip but I just cancelled the reservation. Embrace challenges as they say.

So I am studiously reading forums and articles and watching YouTube videos to familiarize myself with the many nuances of EV travel and the few of this car. So much information here for which I am appreciative.

All the above being said, I don't know what I don't know, so my question to the forum is this: Are there one or two things that you think I should absolutely get, bring, know, or do before setting off on this journey? Basically, any tips that you have learned, perhaps the hard way, that you think I should consider?

Thanks so much.

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. davidtm

davidtm Active Member

Plan your trip charges! I suggest both A Better Route Planner (ABRP has both a phone app and web site) which offers suggested charging stops based on your car's specs and altitude changes, and PlugShare (again, both app and web site).

Also, look for hotels along the way that offer Level 2 charging overnight.

Bon voyage!

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

syntaxfx, Andy Murray and MSimpsonNJ like this.
  4. Really only a couple things:
    - always take your 120V charger that came with the car with you. In the worst case scenario (which is unlikely to happen) you'll have a slow "gas station" pretty much every where.