Newbie here, wife getting her 2021 Kona (preferred) six months earlier than expected.

Discussion in 'Hyundai Kona Electric' started by navguy12, Aug 13, 2020.

To remove this ad click here.

1. navguy12

navguy12 Well-Known Member

The car really should have a very clear button that says "stop charging now".

electriceddy likes this.
  2. To remove this ad click here.

3. Pheonician

Pheonician New Member

Curious if you’ve seen this video or not? He does a pretty good job at explaining the EVSE and how it communicates with your car.

Make a note at about the 15:45 mark.

navguy12 likes this.
  4. ehatch

ehatch Active Member

CCS may be daunting to handle for your wife compared with SC,v2.Hope Tesla brings out the CCS adapter*
    How does she like the ACC versus AP2?
    Did you see 70kW speed ?
    Passenger footwell,haven't noticed,but the hvac fan seems to permanently blow in some air despite being off,and the vent being closed.Resolved for the most part by closing vents,and pointing it away from the driver towards the door.
    Curious how your Model 3 compares with the Kona electric as you experience the first winter with its heat pump.I think it's better because of the heat pump.The Kona is efficient,it has about a 30% range loss in the winter with below 0C,can be less with pre conditioning.The Y I tested was pretty good with highway driving above speed limit,and the hvac on as it has a heat pump.

5. navguy12

Thanks for this!

I didn't know that thumb switch will "magically" shut down the current flow in a controlled manner prior to removing the plug.

6. navguy12

Cheers.

My wife has never driven my TM3 (she can't deal with the layout) so she has never touched a SC plug. That said, she found the CCS device easier to use than our level two EVSE unit in the garage.