Adding rain sensing wipers

Discussion in 'Clarity' started by PDX Clarity, Sep 3, 2020.

To remove this ad click here.

1. PDX Clarity

PDX Clarity New Member

Just got my new 2020 Clarity Touring. I love it but I know I will dearly miss the rain sensing automatic wipers that I had on my Audi. I live in Portland Oregon which is a bit damp half the year. Has anyone attempted to retrofit this feature? Apparently, it is on the Fuel Cell version so it seems likely that the wiring is present and the computer module could be programmed.

Also, as I am new to Hondas, I would appreciate any advice on computer programs to interface with the vehicle. There is an outstanding company called Ross Tech that sells a CAN Bus interface cable and developed a really good program for VW-Audi vehicles.

turtleturtle likes this.
  2. To remove this ad click here.

3. megreyhair

megreyhair Active Member

I don't think you can easily retrofit for rain-sensing wipers. Rain-sensing wipers requires a sensor on the windshield and a special coating on the windshield. This is not something that can be done after-market.

4. turtleturtle

turtleturtle Active Member

I live in the PNW, and this would honestly be great, but as mentioned you need a windshield with the correct reflective coating. I’m not sure it can be done.

Do any Hondas have rain sensing wipers? Maybe there’s an OEM module we could start with.

5. megreyhair

megreyhair Active Member

@turtleturtle , Honda do make cars with auto-wiper. My 16 pilot has it.

6. insightman

insightman Well-Known Member Subscriber